Board of Directors

Sampo plc's Board of Directors, elected annually by the AGM of Sampo plc, uses the highest decision making power in Sampo Group between the AGMs. Sampo's Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the company in compliance with the law, the regulations of the authorities, Sampo's Articles of Association and the decisions of Shareholders Meetings.



Björn Wahlroos

Chairman of the Board Born 1952

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

Nordea Bank AB (publ), *Chairman of the Board;* UPM-Kymmene Corporation, *Chairman of the Board;* Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, *Board Member;* The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA, *Board Member;* Hanken School of Economics, *Chairman of the Board;* The Mannerheim Foundation, *Board Member;* Several other charitable institutions

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since on 5 April 2001. Wahlroos holds 11,865,481 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Wahlroos has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Eira Palin-Lehtinen

Vice Chairperson of the Board Born 1950

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

Sigrid Jusélius Foundation, *Deputy Board Member and Member of the Finance Committee;*

The Finnish Foundation for Share Promotion, Chairman of the Board

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 15 April 2008. Palin-Lehtinen holds 5,075 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Palin-Lehtinen has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Christian Clausen

Senior Advisor, Nordea Bank AB (publ) until 12/31/2016 Chairman for the Nordics, BlackRock Inc. 01/01/2017– Born 1955

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016 BW Group, *Board Member*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 21 April 2016. Clausen holds 448 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Clausen has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Jannica Fagerholm

Managing Director, Signe and Ane Gyllenberg Foundation Born 1961

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

Kesko Corporation, *Board Member;* Teleste Corporation, *Board Member;* Kelonia (Private Equity holding company), *Board Member;* Veritas Pension Company, *Member of the Supervisory Board;* Hanken School of Economics, *Board Member and Chairman of the Investment Committee;* Swedish Society of Literature in Finland, *Board Member*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 18 April 2013. Fagerholm holds 2,167 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Fagerholm has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Adine Grate Axén

CEO of Adine Grate AB Born 1961

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

3 Scandinavia, Advisor and Executive Board Member; Nasdaq Stockholm, Chairman of the Swedish Listing Committee; Swedavia AB, Board Member; AP 7, Vice Chairman of the Board; Madrague Capital Partners AB, Board Member; Alhanko & Johnson AB (BASE 23), Chairman of the Board; Sky, Board Member

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 14 April 2011. Grate Axén holds 4,962 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Grate Axén has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Veli-Matti Mattila

President and CEO of Elisa Corporation Born 1961

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

The Finnish Fair Association, Member of the Supervisory Board; Confederation of Finnish Industries EK, Board Member (Chairman of the Board 01/01/2017-) and Member of Representative Assembly; Service Sector Employers PALTA, Chairman of the Board; The National Emergency Supply Council, Member; FiCom, Chairman of the Board

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 7 April 2009. Mattila holds 5,155 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Mattila has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Risto Murto

Chief Executive Officer and President, Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company Born 1963

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

Wärtsilä Corporation, *Board Member;* Federation of Finnish Financial Services, *Board Member (until 12/31/2016);* The Finnish Pension Alliance TELA, *I Vice Chairman of the Board;* University of Oulu, *Chairman of the Board;*

Finnish National Opera and Ballet, Member of the Supervisory Board

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 16 April 2015. Murto holds 883 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Murto has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.



Per Arthur Sørlie

President & CEO, Borregaard ASA Born 1957

Positions of Trust 12/31/2016

Umkomaas Lignin (Pty) Ltd, *Chairman of the Board;* Inspiria Science Center, *Board Member*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 12 April 2012. Sørlie holds 3,237 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Sørlie has been determined by Sampo's Board of Directors to be independent of the company and of major shareholders under the rules on Finnish Corporate Governance Code.

Anne Brunila, born 1957

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc from 9 April 2003 to 21 April 2016.

When elected, all Board members were independent both of company's major shareholders and of the company. Information as of 31 December 2016, unless stated otherwise. The CVs of members of the Board of Directors can be viewed at www.sampo.com/board.